Beko Digital Singles Label

Well I could ramble on about the decline of music sales, the loss of physical music formats and the death of the album etc etc… Hell, I wrote a 12,000 word dissertation on the subject. So let’s save that for another post, and get on with the show. It’s pretty clear that the music industry is in a state of flux, times are a-changin’. Music selling giants HMV announced this week 60 of their stores are closing. I’m not going to pretend this will effect me in the slightest, but it does make me sad to think physical formats will be potentially lost forever if digital sales are the only way forward. I like holding my music.

On the sunny side of the egg, this digi-future that’s raising it’s head can also be a blessing – pushing artists and distributors to experiment with new forms of packaging, promoting and selling music. One label that’s currently winning on this front is Beko DSL. As far as I know, these guys are purely online and have been around since mid-2009. They release singles and EP’s for free (yeah, the legal type of free!) every Monday and thus, making the world a better place.

The website is slick, minimal and unusual enough to make me smile. The album covers are beautifully designed and branded cleverly. Oh and the music? Well that’s pretty super too – the artists featured are fresh as a daisy and usually in the electronic and/or dreampoppy shoegazey spectrum. A brilliant way of promoting new bands and embracing the digital music future. Thank you Beko!

beko music covers

About Cat Rose

I help creative introverts reach their goals through coaching sessions, step-by-step guides and my online community: the League of Creative Introverts. Big believer in the power of the mind, and the power of peanut butter.
This entry was posted in Cat Recommends, Winlist and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.